Dance for Dance is an evening of community celebration, friend- and fund-raising to support Mark DeGarmo Dance’s mission and activities.

Save the Date!

In 2019, Mark DeGarmo Dance honored Miss America 2019, Nia Imani Franklin, with its inaugural Arts Education Advocate Award 2019

Click here to watch the 2019 Dance for Dance video

Festivities included a performance by MDD students, drinks, hors d’oeuvres, a silent auction, and more.

MC Nat Towsen is a standup comedian, writer, and actor from the Lower East Side, called a “comedic genius” by Time Out NY, and a “bright young man” by Bill Gates.

Prior to offering its Arts Education Advocate Award, MDD awarded the annual “Educational Visionary” Lifetime Achievement Award, to dancer, dance teacher, and choreographer Patricia Aulestia (2017), dance writer Deborah Jowitt (2016), ballet legends and founders of The Briansky Ballet Center Oleg Briansky and Mireille Briane (2015); actress/writer/director, and co-founder of The Living Theatre Judith Malina (2014); and educational theorist and social activist Maxine Greene (2013).  View highlights from past years of Dance for Dance.


Dance for Dance 2019 Co-Chairs

Judy Choi*
Sarah Finlayson & Lindley DeGarmo
Roshene Kemp
Lawrence P. Holodak*
Lindsay O’Reilly
Shefali Trivedi* & Daniel Slotwiner
Karen DeLuca Stephens*
Marianne Egri* & David Thomas

*MDD Board Members

Ex Officio 2019:

Manhattan Borough President Gale A. Brewer
NY State Senator Liz Krueger
NY State Senator Brad M. Hoylman
NY State Assembly Member Peter J. Abbate, Jr.
NY State Assembly Member Maritza Davila
NY State Assembly Member Michael G. DenDekker
NY State Assembly Member Harvey D. Epstein
NY State Assembly Member Daniel J. O’Donnell
NY State Assembly Member Nathalia Fernandez
NY State Assembly Member David I. Weprin
NY City Council Member Ben Kallos
NY City Council Member Carlina Rivera
NY City Council Member Paul Vallone

Our Business Supporters 2019